Malawi National Football Team 2019 Season – Official Team Profile

Malawi Football Association - The Flames
Malawi Football Association - The Flames

The Malawi National football team is a national team of Malawi controlled by the Football Association of Malawi. 

The Flames became the Malawi National football team in 1966 as it was formerly known as Nyasaland National Football team.

The Flames have played in a lot of competitions since its foundation in the early 1960’s and since 2000 has seen a few coaches – 18 coaches have come and gone.

The team managed to win the CECAFA Cup in 1978, 79 and 1988 and became runners up of the COSAFA tournament in 2002 and 2003 having finished on third position in 2001.

The Flames have in recent years managed to qualify for the 2010 African Cup Of Nations after 25 years, a tournament which was staged in Angola and the Kinnah Phiri was coach of the team. On its way to qualify for the tournament, The Flames defeated Egypt by a goal to 0 at Kamuzu stadium in Blantyre.

At the 2010 African Cup of Nations. Malawi managed to defeat Algeria National team by 3 goals to 0 but lost to Angola 2-0 and Mali  3-1.

In 2015 The Flames won the plate at the COSAFA tournament when they defeated Zambia in the plate final match.

Kinnah Phiri who played for the Flames in years of 1973-81 is the all time top goal scorer 71 goals and is also the most capped player having played 115 games while Joseph Kamwendo has 103 caps one more than Peter Mponda who has 102 caps.

NAME : Malawi National Football Team
NICKNAME : The Flames
ASSOCIATION: Football Association of Malawi
HOME GROUND : Bingu National Stadium
CAPACITY : 41 100
JERSEY COLOUR: Red and Green
COACH : Ronny Van Geneugeden
HIGHEST FIFA RANKING: 53 (December 1992)
LOWEST FIFA RANKING : 138 (December 2007-march 2008)

Malawi 8 vs Botswana 1 (13 July 1968)
Malawi 8 vs Djibout 1 (31 May 2008)

Nyasaland 0 vs Gold Coast 12 (15 November 1962)

TNM Super League: Silver Strikers Football Club 2019 Season Official Team Profile
TNM Super League: Nyasa Big Bullets 2019 Season Official Team Profile
TNM Super League: Blue Eagles Football Club 2019 Season Official Team Profile


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here